Princess Diaries Series

The Princess Diaries is a series of novels by Meg Cabot in the chick-lit and YA fiction genre, and the title of the first volume, published in 2000. The Princess Diaries novels are epistolary in nature.

Meg Cabot quotes the series’ inspiration on her website as “I was inspired to write The Princess Diaries when my mom, after the death of my father, began dating one of my teachers, just as Mia’s mom does in the book! I have always had a “thing” for princesses (my parents used to joke that when I was little, I did a lot of insisting that my “real” parents, the king and queen, were going to come get me soon, and that everyone had better start being a LOT nicer to me) so I stuck a princess in the book just for kicks… and VOILÀ! The Princess Diaries was born.”

The books are noted for containing many popular culture references, which include singers, movies, and fads in modern culture. Many critics have taken unkindly to this form of storytelling. In response, Cabot wrote an English teacher into the book Princess in Training who criticizes Mia’s writing, telling her that it relies too much on “slick pop culture references.”

The story of Mia’s adolescent turmoil as an average teenager, and a princess of royal descent and chronicled in her ongoing journal, where she explores topics of teenage angst, love and betrayal through a very opinionated eye. Cabot has stated that the series will end with its tenth book, when Mia turns 18. However, she has also said that she may drop in on her (Mia) from time to time in the future.

EBook Downloads:

The Princess Diaries

The Princess Diaries, Volume II: Princess in the Spotlight

The Princess Diaries, Volume III: Princess in Love

The Princess Diaries, Volume IV: Princess in Waiting









The Princess Diaries, Volume IV and 1/4: Valentine Princess

The Princess Diaries, Volume V: Princess in Pink

The Princess Diaries, Volume VI: Princess in Training

The Princess Diaries, Volume VI and 1/2: The Princess Present









The Princess Diaries, Volume VII: Party Princess

The Princess Diaries, Volume VII and 1/2: Sweet Sixteen Princess

The Princess Diaries, Volume VIII: Princess on the Brink

The Princess Diaries, Volume IX: Princess Mia









The Princess Diaries, Volume X: Forever Princess

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Princess Diaries Series, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating


About the Author