Inheritance Series

The Inheritance Cycle is a tetralogy of fantasy novels by Christopher Paolini. It was previously titled the Inheritance Trilogy until Paolini’s announcement on October 30, 2007 that there would be a fourth book. The novels focus on a teenage boy named Eragon and his dragon Saphira as he becomes one of the few remaining Dragon Riders, a legendary group who governed the land in times past but were almost destroyed by a Rider named Galbatorix and the Forsworn, a group of thirteen Riders who betrayed their fellow Riders by swearing fealty to Galbatorix. After the Fall, when most of the Riders were slain, Galbatorix claimed the throne of Alagaësia. The tyrant king’s greatest fear is that a new Rider will rise up and usurp his position as king of the Empire. Through the efforts of the rebel group, the Varden, and their leader/founder, Brom (in collusion with Jeod and Hefring) a dragon egg is stolen from Galbatorix, and by a whim of fate, is thrust upon a young farmboy in Palancar Valley named Eragon. As Galbatorix attempts to capture Eragon and his dragon, Eragon begins a journey into the past and the future of Alagaësia.

The first book in the series, Eragon, was self-published by Paolini’s family in 2002 and re-published in 2003 by Knopf; it was followed by Eldest in 2005. Both were New York Times bestsellers[1][2] and together have sold more than 20 million copies worldwide.[3] The third book in the series, Brisingr, was published on September 20, 2008,[4] and the fourth book, titled Inheritance, is set to be released November 8, 2011. The series was intended to be a trilogy, but this changed as Paolini decided that the story was too complex to conclude in the third book.


EBook Downloads:

Inheritance - 01 Eragon

Inheritance - 02 Eldest

Inheritance - 03 Brisingr


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.3/10 (3 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
Inheritance Series, 8.3 out of 10 based on 3 ratings


About the Author